As I Ebb'd with the Ocean of Life

Jag känner mig så sjukt ovärdig att få översätta en man som har skrivit följande, och liknande:

O baffled, balk'd, bent to the very earth 
Oppress'd with myself that I have dared to open my mouth, 
Aware now, that, amid all that blab whose echoes recoil upon me, I have not once had the least idea who or what I am, 
But that before all my insolent poems the real ME stands yet untouch'd, untold, altogether unreach'd,  30
Withdrawn far, mocking me with mock-congratulatory signs and bows, 
With peals of distant ironical laughter at every word I have written, 
Pointing in silence to these songs, and then to the sand beneath. 
  
Now I perceive I have not understood anything-not a single object-and that no man ever can. 
  
I perceive Nature, here in sight of the sea, is taking advantage of me, to dart upon me, and sting me,  35
Because I have dared to open my mouth, to sing at all.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0